Thomas More

Welcome

Our objectives are to sponsor and to encourage all members of the legal profession to participate in an annual Red Mass as a reminder to all that the law is based on the eternal law of God and divine justice. We also strive to educate our members and the general public on the principles, ideals and standards of personal conduct exemplified in the life of Sir Thomas More.

Welcome to our website

Please click on the following links to learn more about the Guild, our upcoming and recent activities, and how to reach us.

Statue of Thomas More by Leslie Cubitt Bevis in front of Chelsea Old Church, Cheyne Walk, London.

St Thomas More

Who was Thomas More?

A man "whose soul was more pure than any snow" (Erasmus), More was also a great, brilliant lawyer and statesman who served as Lord Chancellor of England under Henry VIII, before he was executed for refusing to compromise his conscience.

A man for all seasons

More was a master statesman, an intellectual and scholar whose wit and irony was used to remarkable rhetorical effect. His piety, virtue and naturalness overflowed into his public life leading his friend Erasmus to describe him most appropriately as "a man for all seasons".

Thomas More

Bienvenue

Nos objectifs sont d'organiser et d'encourager les juristes à participer à une Messe Rouge annuelle pour se rappeler que le droit est fondé sur la loi éternelle de Dieu et sa justice divine. Nous nous efforçons aussi d'éduquer nos membres et le grand public sur les principes, idéaux et normes de vie personnelle tirés de la vie de Sir Thomas More.

Bienvenue sur notre site

S'il vous plaît cliquer sur les liens suivants pour en apprendre davantage au sujet de la Société juridique, nos prochaines activités, et comment nous joindre.

Statue de Thomas More par Leslie Cubitt Bevis en face de Chelsea Old Church, Cheyne Walk, Londres.

Saint-Thomas More

Qui était Thomas More?

Un homme «dont l'âme était plus pure que la neige» (Erasmus), More était aussi un brillant avocat et homme d'État qui a servi comme lord chancelier d'Angleterre sous Henri VIII, avant d'être exécuté pour avoir refusé de compromettre sa conscience.

un homme pour toutes les saisons

More était un homme d'Etat accompli, un intellectuel et un érudit dont l'esprit et le sens de l'humour ont été démontrés par sa remarquable rhétorique. Sa piété, sa vertu et et son naturel ont débordé dans sa vie publique conduisant son ami Erasmus à le décrire comme "un homme pour toutes les saisons ".